About Us

The Vision

To produce the premier aviation showcase in Canada and a pre-eminent community event in the Lower Mainland.  To celebrate our aviation heritage and inspire a passion for flight.

The Mission

To produce Canada’s best airshow and one of the Lower Mainland’s pre-eminent community events.  The Abbotsford International Airshow will feature diverse aerial and aviation-related displays, and offer value and entertainment to all ages.   

We partner with charities, service groups and local businesses with the goal of giving back to the community.  We support the Canadian Aerospace Industry by fostering partnerships with other aviation organizations.

The Abbotsford International Airshow Society (AIAS) is the non-profit society that has operated in British Columbia, Canada since 1966, created as a distinct entity in preparation for the 1967 Canada Centennial Airshow. 

The keystone annual event-- The Abbotsford International Airshow, is an aviation festival that has grown well beyond its borders over the past 5 decades.

With a role from very early on as a significant stop on the 'Airshow Circuit,' Abbotsford has distinguished itself as an event focused on aviation excellence, aerospace advancement and community participation.

It is organised by the Board of Directors, a Core Staff and the annual participation of 1000+ Volunteers and hundreds of Community Businesses.


Become An Airshow Society Member

Annual Membership is $10 for Individuals, $40 for Companies, and includes:

  • Invitation to Member-Only events
  • A voting seat at the Annual General Meeting (Held at end of November)
  • Members Newsletter
  • Discounts on Abbotsford Airshow Admissions and Clothing

Click here to download a Membership Application Form

Click here to download the Member's Ticket Order Form (2016 coming soon)



2016 Board of Directors & Staff

Robert Aubry
Ron Becker
Jim Reith - President
Branko Bejo
Ed Boon  Ali Siemens - Operations Manager
Jonathan Burke George Elder Mike Davenport- Volunteer Coordinator
Bill Findlay Aird Flavelle Jadene Mah- Media Coordinator
Thomas Grozier Ken Hildebrandt  Nathan Unger- Onfield Setup Support
Larry Huber Dave Humphreys  Shirley Wilson- Sponsorship Development
Stacey Irwin Dave Jones Doris Woodman-McMillan - Bookkeeper 
John Wayne MacMullin Vali Marling
Jonathan Maryniuk Rose McComb  
Stu McIntosh Dave Reith      
Adrian Renkers August Rinz  
Parm Sidhu Dirk Sieber  
Steve Stewart Sandy Tiwana  
Jim Watkins ADSE REP  

AGM & Elections

The Annual General Meeting for 2016 will be held November 22th at 7PM (Registration 6:30PM) at the Abbotsford Flying Club 30540 Approach Drive

Each year, 10 or 11 new Board Members are sought for 2-Year Terms on the Board of Directors

Any member in good standing is welcome to indicate their interest in running by informing the Board Secretary, who will advise the Nominating Committee. Please send expressions of interest prior to October 31st, 2016.

In order to assist the Nominating Committee in understanding an applicant's background/interest in the Abbotsford Airshow and some of the qualifications and skills that can be applied to Board work, all expressions of interest must include:

  • Relevant Work, Volunteer or Board Experience Summary
  • Key Interests and hobbies
  • A synopsis of why there is interest in serving on the Board of the Abbotsford Airshow 
  • A brief statement of which assets (background, skills & experience, contacts, etc.) could be a benefit as a Director of the Abbotsford Airshow

Information can be emailed ATTN: Nominating Committee to: info@abbotsfordairshow.com

**Applications received after the October 31st 2016 deadline, or without the requested background information will not be reviewed

Membership with Other Organisations

AIAS is a proud member in good standing with several community and aviation industry associations: